Michigan Press Association Board of Directors

MPA Board of Directors

The Michigan Press Association is governed by a board of fifteen directors elected by the general membership. Founded in 1868, the MPA promotes the power of print and the public’s right to know.


Kevin Hook

Grand Haven Tribune

President Elect

Richard Lamb

Presque Isle County Advance


Julie Stafford

Greenville Daily News

Vice President

Peter Bhatia

Detroit Free Press

Immediate Past President

Brad Thompson

Detroit Legal News


MPA Commitees

MPA has many committees set up to provide input and ideas that help central staff deliver services and training to our members that assist them in doing their jobs.

If you are interested in participating on a committee please contact

  • Education Committee
  • Executive Committee
  • Public Policy Committee
  • Better Newspaper Contest Committee
  • Personnel Committee
  • Public Notices Committee
  • Membership Committee
  • Communications Committee