MPA Annual Contests & Awards

The MPA runs various contests and awards annually.

The Better Newspaper Contest, The Journalist of the Year, and the Wade McCree Award.

Get the contest and awards information below.

MPA Better Newspaper Contest

Bigger Contest Spotlights Better Journalism

The Michigan Press Association’s annual Better Newspaper Contest allows member journalists, photojournalists, columnists, designers to show off their best work. Each year, a state press association reviews thousands of entries submitted by Michigan newspapers and Individual members. The increased competition inspires all journalists to produce better work, which in turn, nurtures stronger communities.

The 2023 contest will be open for entries from August 1 thru October 6.

Contest period for entries is August 1, 2022 to July 31, 2023. Additional information and contest rules are below.

If you have any questions please contact us at


Michigan Journalist of the Year Award


Work Published From October 1, 2022 through September 30, 2023

The Richard Milliman Michigan Journalist of the Year award is in an annual competition sponsored by the Michigan Press Association Foundation. In 2016, the Michigan Journalist of the Year award was renamed in honor of Richard Milliman, a MPA Foundation founder and long term supporter and advocate of press in Michigan. The Foundation is seeking entries for its seventh annual competition. The contest is open to all professional journalists in Michigan. The award will honor an individual journalist whose work had a significant impact, locally or statewide. Journalists may submit a body of work published, broadcast, or posted from October 1, 2022 through September 30, 2023. For this competition, a “body of work” may comprise up to six examples of the journalist’s work during the contest period. Each entry must include a cover letter of up to 300 words highlighting the quality and impact of the journalist’s work. Entries may include supporting material to show how the journalist’s work made a difference in the community or across Michigan. Entries for the 2023 contest will be accepted beginning on August 1 and ending on October 27th.  

Richard Milliman: A Proud Legacy

Richard Milliman was inducted into the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame in 1994 following a career that spanned more than 60 years in state newspapers. He was a reporter, writer, editor, manager or owner and publisher at more than 40 Michigan newspapers. In 1980, Milliman was a leader in establishing the Michigan Press Association Foundation to promote, protect and encourage journalism in Michigan.

Wade H. McCree Awards

for the Advancement of Justice

Wade H. McCree

The McCree Awards recognize Michigan broadcast, print and on-line journalists whose work fosters greater public understanding of the values of our legal and judicial systems.

To be eligible, journalistic work must be published, broadcast and/or posted between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2022. The work must inform and educate citizens about the role of the law, the courts, law enforcement agencies, or the legal profession in society. The work could also disclose practices in need of improvement and encourage legal and legislative efforts to reform or modernize our laws, courts, and law enforcement agencies.

Entries may consist of feature or news articles, analyses, editorials, or combinations of these. In the broadcast category, documentaries, educational or editorial programs may be submitted. Any Michigan newspaper, news service, news syndicate or network, magazine, television or radio station or legal publication, or any employees of such entities are eligible to enter. There is no charge for entering.

Contest begins December 1, 2022 and ends February 3, 2023.

Still have questions? Contact Diana Davis at

Donate or become a sponsor to the McCree Award and the continued support of legal and judicial reporting in Michigan

Thank you to our sponsors for their continued support.