

# THE RICHARD MILLIMAN MICHIGAN Journalist of the Year

for work published from October 1, 2023 - September 30, 2024

**PRINT AND ONLINE AWARDS FOR JOURNALISTS** 



#### **ATTENTION MICHIGAN JOURNALISTS:**

Your work makes a difference for Michigan citizens every day. This was true during the pandemic and is truer now.

The MPA Foundation is firmly committed to promoting and encouraging professional journalists across Michigan and we welcome this opportunity to recognize the best of the best in our state. The Richard Milliman Journalist of the Year Award honors journalism that has made a significant impact on our state or in a local community.

#### **How To Enter:**

Entries accepted from news outlets, an individual journalist or others acting on their behalf.

A panel of journalism professionals, educators and Foundation board members will judge entries.

Entries will be accepted beginning **August 15, 2024**. The submission should include work from **October 1, 2023 - September 30, 2024**.

For this competition, a "body of work" may comprise up to six examples of the journalist's work during the contest period. Each entry must include a cover letter of up to 300 words highlighting the quality and impact of the journalist's work. Entries may include supporting material to show how the journalist's work made a difference in the community or across Michigan.

**DEADLINE:** Submit entries with the **Subject** "Journalist of the Year and name of nominee to: **diana@michiganpress.org**, **by 11:59 pm**, **October 25**, **2024.** Include all **1**) attachments, **2**) a login (if behind paywall). Incomplete entries will not be included for judging.

## THE WINNER WILL BE ANNOUNCED IN 2025.

## Former winners include:

**2023** Michael Wilkinson and Jonathan Oosting of Bridge Michigan for their reporting on Michigan's grant-making process.

**2022** Kelly House for her reporting on the Great Lakes.

**2021** Jonathan Oosting of Bridge Michigan for his reporting on the state's election system.

**2020** Michael Wilkinson of Bridge Michigan for his reporting on Covid.

**2019** Tresa Baldas of The Detroit Free Press for her coverage of sexual assaults at Jamaican resorts.

**2018** Paula Gardner of MLive for her reporting on PFAS.

**2017** Garrett Ellison of MLive for his watchdog reporting, including his coverage of Nestle water controversy.

**2016** Karen Bouffard & Joel Kurth of the Detroit News for revealing a decade-long problem of cleaning surgical instruments at one of Michigan's biggest hospital systems.

**2015** Curt Guyette of ACLU for his reporting of the Flint Water Crisis.

**2014** Jennifer Dixon of the Detroit Free Press for her investigative reporting into the lack of transparency on how \$1 billion of taxpayer funds are spent on charter schools in Michigan.

## **Richard Milliman: A Proud Legacy**

The Richard Milliman Michigan Journalist of the Year award is an annual competition sponsored by the Michigan Press Association Foundation. In 2016, the award was renamed in honor of Richard Milliman.

Richard Milliman was inducted into the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame in 1994 following a career that spanned more than 60 years in state newspapers. He was a reporter, writer, editor, manager or owner and publisher at more than 40 Michigan newspapers. He was a leader in establishing the Michigan Press Association Foundation to promote, protect and encourage journalism in Michigan.

### **About the Michigan Press Association Foundation**

The Michigan Press Association Foundation was established in 1980 to further the interests of community journalism in Michigan. The Foundation's mission includes serving the public interest by encouraging, fostering and aiding improvements in the quality, vigor and fairness of journalism and a free press in the State of Michigan. The Foundation has invested more than \$330,000 in Michigan journalism since 1990, including the award of nearly 300 scholarships to college-level journalism students.

Michigan Press Association Foundation 1642 Yosemite Dr. Lansing, MI 48917 www.michiganpress.org/foundation

Contest Page: michiganpress.org/contests-and-awards/